Beautiful Life and Style

NOT a Christmas Post

Leave a comment

Somerville lightsew

I should have seen this coming… every year Christmas decorations creep out sooner and sooner… Halloween was Monday and immediately all over the internet I am seeing “holiday wish list” blog posts and Christmas decorations for sale. Today I walked into CVS and was visually smacked in the face with gaudy tinsel displays, blow up lawn ornaments and Candy Canes. Here in Boston, the leaves are still on the trees for goodness sake!

My favorite holiday of the year is actually Thanksgiving- and it pains me to see that it gets no recognition in the American holiday marketing calendar. To me, there is nothing more festive than sitting down and eating a big meal with family and friends.

Thanksgiving at our house

And who doesn’t love pie? My family starts cooking for thanksgiving a week in advance, and dinner averages around 5 hours and I wouldn’t trade that time for anything in the world. (For those of you reading this who don’t know me- I promise I am not 300lbs)

Why do we as a country glaze over Thanksgiving? It might not have the presents or bring in the revenue to a weak economy- but do we really want to ignore the sentiment of giving thanks for all that we have and spending a relaxing meal with family and friends? So many people LOVE fall- especially in New England. Leaves changing… pumpkins…. boots and sweaters? Why would we cut this short for gaudy Christmas lights and Santa in the mall? Thanksgiving is that peaceful meditative time before we go absolutely berserk. We need it for our sanity!

roadside pumpkins

In honor of Thanksgiving (which I refuse to give up on) I now offer my mother’s famous, blue ribbon, absolutely fabulous Sour Cream Apple Pie. I hope that you make it and the tastes and smells help put you in a festive (Thanksgiving) mood. And come back for some more Thanksgiving posts. I promise on this blog: no Christmas until December

Sour Cream Apple Pie

Preheat oven to 400 degrees
Prepare 1- 9″ unbaked pie crust (martha stewart has a great one here)

Filling:
Sift together 2Tbs flour, 1/8 tsp salt; 3/4 cup sugar.  Add 1 unbeaten egg, 1cup sour cream, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp nutmeg.Beat to smooth thin batter.
Blend in 3 cups diced apples (hint from mom – grannie smith is best).  Pour into pie shell.

Bake @ 400 for 15 min. , then 350 for 30 min.

Topping:   Mix 1/3 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, tsp cinnamon, 1/4 cup softened butter. use hands to form into crumbs. Sprinkle over pie.  (HFM –  make extra crumbs)

Brown for approx. 10 min @400

Let cool and enjoy! Tastes great warm or cold from the fridge.

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

Leave a Reply

