Beautiful Life and Style

Artwork by: Clyfford Still

Leave a comment

“To be stopped by a frame’s edge is intolerable”- Clyfford Still

1962-D

Not everyone feels inspired by modern art. I for one, love it. Last Spring, Nick and I visited his family in California and I was able to drag him to SFMOMA where I met my new favorite artist, Clyfford Still. His work is part of the abstract expressionist movement that emerged around World War II. Abstract expressionism is marked by large scale paintings with abstract forms and expressive brushwork. I love it for the colors and its presence- there is no way you could walk into a room and ignore it.

As much as I wish I could own one of his paintings, at the same time, I know that my apartment would not do the work justice. You need just the right, minimalistic and HUGE space to enjoy it in…. they also run around 20 million dollars.

An interesting fact is that Still specified in his will that all of his estate be stored until a city was able to establish a permanent home dedicated to his work. Yes a little full of himself- but totally deserved. The museum opened this year and I’m hoping that someday I will be able to visit Denver to experience all these works on a grand scale.

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

Leave a Reply

