Beautiful Life and Style

Boston Real Estate: they just don’t make it like they used to

6 Comments

You may or may not have seen this article on Boston.com about rents in Boston and how they have completely skyrocketed this year. Boston is now the 5th most expensive place to rent in the United States- trailing only behind New York, San Francisco, Westchester County, NY and Fairfield County, CT. Nick and I are definitely victims of this- our rent is scheduled to go up 25% this Spring! Needless to say- we have been doing a little apartment hunting to find ourselves a better deal…

But of course, being someone who loves architecture, interiors and has a love of things that cost too much money, I let my mind wander to the future, the unrealistic, and the “even if I won the lotto I still couldn’t afford this” price range. In this category Boston does not disappoint- yes- there ARE apartments that are bigger than most people’s homes.

But what truly sets these apartments apart are the details characteristic of buildings built 250 years ago. The hidden features are ones that cannot be replicated in today’s generic stainless appliances and hasty construction. It is an art form that has been completely lost. Which is amazingly sad. How have we let this craftmanship slip away from us? Am I the only person who appreciates its value? Here are a few details that I found particularly beautiful.

hand painted/ stained glass ceiling
beautiful front door
isn’t a rounded doorway so much more inviting?
fireplace detailing
the columns and railings are just beautiful
every room in this house has a different pattern on the ceiling
if a piece of this entry fell off or crumbled, would someone be able to replace it?
Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

6 thoughts on “Boston Real Estate: they just don’t make it like they used to

  1. Dear Erika: Great soups and beautiful architecture are two of my favorite subjects. You presented both beautifully. I was particularly impressed with your food photography…an art form in itself. Thank you. Vicky Heron

    • Vicky,
      I’m so glad you like it! I’ve been definitely looking at real estate quite a bit the past few days and the little details always catch my eye.
      Erika
      ps Nick gave the soup his seal of approval so we must know it has mass appeal!

  2. Hi there
    thanks for stopping by my blog…good to see you there.

  3. Well, this post is right up my alley and just one of the many reasons I started following your blog!! Architectural elements have fallen by the wayside and builders just slap houses together with no sense of aesthetics…it’s a shame!!!

    Love your blog…love this post!!!

    • thank you for your comment- you have a lovely blog as well!

      Its funny because as a child I don’t think I appreciated any of this but everywhere we went, my mother would be pointing out molding and lintels. Now I’m the one annoying my boyfriend- looking up at the little details everywhere we go.

Leave a Reply

