Beautiful Life and Style

Easy Entertaining: Manchego and Walnut Stuffed Dates

5 Comments

Nick is the king of impromptu entertaining. And by impromptu I mean something like this:

Nick: “I invited 10 guys from work over”

Me: “OKkkayyyyyyy. When?”

Nick: “For the game.”

Me: “You mean the game that starts in a half hour?!”

-insert some yelling and scrambling to get ready here-

I know I’m tightly wound. I know I don’t HAVE to serve snacks. And they don’t HAVE to have a great cocktail to pair with. I mean with this little notice I barely have time to cleanup our tiny apartment. But I like entertaining! And while everyone always says “oh Erika I’m not hungry, you didn’t have to do all this!” the plate of salty sweet snacks is somehow always, magically empty by the end of the night. So, as frustrated as Nick makes me in these scenarios, at the same time, its because of him that I’ve amassed an arsenal of great snacks I can whip up in a flash. What a great guy right?

The point of this long lead in is that I’ve decided to do a new string of posts about impromptu entertaining. And trust me, I am no chef. These could almost be called “Appetizers for Idiots”- they will all be quick and easy, and hopefully without expensive ingredients. Let me know if you try and like the recipe!

Manchego and Walnut Stuffed Dates

I thought I would start with something simple. This recipe is almost as easy as reading the title. But these little delights are salty, sweet, small and dare I say- healthy?- a girl’s favorite kind of snack!

What you need:

  • Pitted deglet dates
  • Walnut halves
  • Manchego cheese

Hold the date upright and make a slice all the way from the top to the bottom on one side (read: don’t cut them in half!). The idea is to create a pouch for the other items to sit in. Next, cut a slice a small thin, piece of manchego. Stack the cheese and a walnut half in your fingers one on top of each other and then nestle them into the slit in the date. Repeat. Serve.

See? Being a hostess is easy! They look much more difficult (and pretty) than they are. If you don’t have time to make a ton, only assemble a few and put the rest of the ingredients (with the dates already sliced) in small bowls- your guests will figure it out.

Would you like a drink?

I think nothing is better with these than a glass of red wine- again- easy!

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

5 thoughts on “Easy Entertaining: Manchego and Walnut Stuffed Dates

  1. you never make me snacks when i come over.. and you should make mini bries they only take 20 in the oven.. šŸ™‚

  2. ah, and who might that be?

  3. Pingback: Easy Entertaining: Melon and Prosciutto « Beautiful Life and Style

Leave a Reply

