Beautiful Life and Style

Target, Neimans and the CFDA love story

3 Comments

Have you heard? Target and Neiman Marcus are joining forces to create a capsule collection of 24 CFDA Designers. The collection will debut this holiday season and will feature items ranging up to nearly $500, but most are promised to be below $60.

I’m curious what everyone’s thoughts on this are. I know I won’t make a lot of friends by saying this, and I don’t mean to come off as a fashion snob (because I’m not) but I really hate all of these top designers cheapening their brands for the mass-market stores. Not too long ago there was the Marni for H&M, and Mary Katrantzou for Topshop, or who can forget the Missioni for Target. These collaborations seem to be more and more frequent, and I really wonder what the point is? I get that it brings some brand notoriety to the market-but at what price to the designer? While they are certainly big money makers for the stores, I have to imagine the designers are sacrificing part of what their brand is built upon to make their clothes available to the greater consumer.

Hear me out.

Oscar de la Renta

Oscar de la Renta makes some of the most beautiful gowns in the world. His fabrics are all gorgeous and each detail of a dress right down to the tiniest zipper has been thought through- not to mention that everything is made in America. The precision craftsmanship and attention to detail and quality is the backbone of the brand. Now, I don’t care how carefully or closely he monitors Target- they cannot afford to create clothing in the same way. For less than $60, they could barely afford the threads and sequins of a real Oscar de la Renta Gown. So what is the consumer buying? The name.

Carolina Herrera

Carolina Herrera is another perfect example of a designer who’s attention to detail is legendary. Her garments are always simple with amazing flourishes- whether it be an intricate sleeve or neckline. Luxurious yet wearable. Well if you take away the luxury aspect what are you going to be left with? A very pretty, cheap sundress? when wearing it will you really say- this is a Carolina Herrera? No- because it won’t be. Everything that the brand stands for won’t be there. But the actual brand label will be.

Prabal Gurung

So these designers agree to lower the quality for the sake of promoting and growing the brand. But now that “brand” also includes cheap, quickly produced tshirts and pants? How does that not detract from the name overall? Now Prabal Gurung will be known for his runway clothing and his $60 dresses. What makes his target dress any better than the average target designer at this point?

What about the DVF prints? Or the Rag and Bone tailoring? Who really believes that these won’t be sacrificed up for profits? Am I alone here? When you take out the elemental reason a brand is a luxury, what keeps them appealing?

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

3 thoughts on “Target, Neimans and the CFDA love story

  1. Alas, these agreements between designer and mass marketing stores are all for $$$$. Licensing brings in major money to the designers. The designers might justify these deals by saying they need the money to support their couture clothes…very expensive to design, make and promote and many times the bottom line is not what we think. What next…Missoni key chains at 7-11?

  2. I guess it’s all about owning a bit of the brand name. I will say that I bought a Proenza Schouler for Target dress and skirt a few years back and the construction and print/seam matching was very good. But VH is right — this is all about business.
    x Laura

    • Thanks for your opinions!

      I agree that they completely make business sense for the designers and the stores- I think the Marni collaboration at H&M had people camping out around the block! And I’ve found some great items at these stores- trust me I don’t walk around in $600 dresses- I can’t afford to!

      I guess I get bothered by the fact that it seems people buy the dresses solely because it has a specific label and not because its any prettier than other dresses in the store. I also think that having a more mass-produced line does detract from the overall brand. One things for sure, this trend doesn’t seem to be going anywhere anytime soon..

Leave a Reply

