Beautiful Life and Style

Shut the Front Door

2 Comments

I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again- as much as I LOVE living in the city, there are some things I really miss from living in a house. One being a front door. I mean, yes, we have a front door as in a method of entering our apartment- but we miss out on color and decoration- even something as simple as a wreath or a welcome mat is frowned upon, there is no grand entrance. Our door looks exactly like the other 12 on the floor.

Front doors set the tone for the feel of a house. It’s almost like a mystery game show (what is hiding behind door #1…!?) in that it gives clues to what the rest of the house might hold. There are so many subtle differences that I don’t think you realize until you really start looking- door knockers, windows, color…. Designing and decorating the front door is almost the same effort as an entire room in your house!

I don’t think we are moving out of apartment life anytime soon, so for now I’ll have to settle for looking at these amazing images and hope that maybe someday I can afford a townhouse.

and then can we talk about how much I would DIE for a pink front door?

And of course, a few Fall fabulous ones (have to look good for trick or treaters!)

ps I’ll follow up later with links!

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

2 thoughts on “Shut the Front Door

  1. The doors decorated for autumn are beautiful and inspiring….I’m heading for the pumpkin patch!

Leave a Reply

