Beautiful Life and Style

Thanksgiving Cocktails

1 Comment

This usually comes as a surprise to my friends, but in my family, I am constantly ridiculed for being the worst cook. Come thanksgiving I am usually trusted only with tasks such as “cut the ends off green beans” and  mistakes that I made in the kitchen at 9 years old are still talked about as if they happened last year.

But while I’m not making the turkey or a blue ribbon pie, I still think I contribute to the day in a big way. The first is setting the table. And the second is coming up with great cocktails. Unfortunately last year’s cocktail was a little odd in flavor (gin, cloves, pears, etc) and so this year my mom asked that I test out the drink recipes beforehand. TWIST MY ARM why don’t you….

So last night I gathered up all of the ingredients to test out a few different drink recipes and I thought I’d share the results here. (and if you are my family reading this – feel free to chime in on which one you want!) They were all quite tasty so I’m having trouble deciding!!

Wild Turkey Cocktail.

If there is a blogger out there who has a passion for cocktail culture, it is Mrs. Lilien. Her Wild Turkey Cocktail was something you would order from a fancy cocktail bar with bartenders that spend 15 minutes crafting each drink. It was a lot of work, but definitely worth the effort. It should be noted though, that I have a weakness for any drink with egg whites.

1 1/2 oz Wild Turkey Bourbon | 1/2 oz fresh squeezed grapefruit juice | 1/2 oz fresh squeezed lime juice | 1 oz honey |1 egg white

Shake in a cocktail shaker, serve over ice, garnish with a cherry

Pear and Thyme Fizz

This recipe I found this summer on the blog Sous Style and I pinned it for a rainy day. While they put it out in August, I think the flavors of pear, apple and thyme are perfect for a thanksgiving feast. Full disclaimer that this one requires some prep a few hours beforehand! I loved having a nice crisp pear in the drink- but next time I’m cutting back on the thyme- Maybe I’ll even try a different herb?? I’m open to suggestions!

2 cups good-quality apple juice | 1 ripe but firm pear, very thinly sliced | 12 sprigs fresh thyme | 1/4 cup grand marnier | 1 bottle sparkling wine

Combine apple juice, pears, thyme and liqueur. Stir together, then refrigerate for 2 – 4 hours to allow the pears and thyme to infuse the juice with flavor. Divide between 6 champagne flutes, discarding thyme, then fill remainder of each glass with champagne. Garnish each glass with a sprig of fresh thyme.

Dark n’ Stormier

Can you sense a trend yet that I only like drinks with bubbles?? I also love ginger, making Dark n’ Stormys and Moscow Mules candidates for the best drinks EVER. This recipe is particularly special because it adds extra spice with ginger liquer AND homemade ginger beer. While I didn’t have time to make my own ginger beer (I have a fear of any recipe with yeast), Whole Foods sells a tasty one and the result was still delicious.

1 ounce Gosling’s Black Seal Rum | ½ ounce Domaine de Canton Ginger Cognac | Ginger beer, to taste | Thyme leaves, for garnish | Lime wedge, for garnish

Fill a highball glass with ice. Add the rum and ginger cognac, stir, and top with ginger beer. Swipe the lip of the glass with the lime wedge. Garnish with thyme leaves and the lime wedge.

All of the drinks were amazing, but I still can’t decide, so we might have to try a few more out tonight. (Oh the travesty!!) Any recommendations for a great Thanksgiving cocktail??

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

One thought on “Thanksgiving Cocktails

  1. Nice job on the drink choices Erika. After reading through all – my vote would be the Dark n Stormier (might i suggest mint leaves vs thyme) – think about it. By the way – as an ‘older’ relative of yours, a pork chop incident when I was 15 is still brought up as are a few culinary questions I had in my late teens. Remember, I was the ‘Non-Cook’ many years before you. My holiday skills involve picking up the last minute items or the things forgotten, and post dinner clean up. As far as your cooking skills go – I can’t wait to try out some of those appetizers you have posted (they sound wonderful) AND, I know you are a great baker. While your mother has the blue ribbon on pie making, I think you hold your own (as do I) on cakes, cookies and other baked items (you & I like exact measurements).

    I am looking forward to celebrating the holiday with you tomorrow, and, of course, one of the things I am most thankful for is YOU in my life.

    Love & Hugs,
    🙂

Leave a Reply

