Beautiful Life and Style

Bookclub: Seeking Recommendations!

11 Comments

January 2012- you might remember that my New Year’s Resolution was to read more. I did ok for a little while, finding a bunch of novels about art to enjoy (Leaving Van Gogh, An Object of Beauty, Girl in Hyacinth Blue) but then the list ran dry, and I was in a rut. So I started up a bookclub with a few of my girlfriends and we have been pretty successful at keeping to a book a month. Well, lets just say that our book choices are starting to leave something to be desired. We did ok with Gone Girl, but most of the books have been really depressing…

This month I am supposed to read Far from the Tree: Parents, Children and the Search for Identity. I’ll let you take a second to read the description. Too lazy??- still waiting for me to sum it up? The book discusses the way families handle raising children with “identifiers” such as deafness, physical deformity, or homosexuality.

Now. I’m sure this is a very interesting choice if say, you work as a teacher of kids with special needs. Or you are a parent in a similar family situation. Or maybe if you are a parent at all. But can someone tell me why a bunch of 26 year old unmarried girls would find this book interesting? Call me close minded but I have NO interest in reading this. I can’t even make it through the description without getting bored. I want something that teaches me about art, or history- or just a lighthearted love story. I think my book club is trying to impress each other with their discussion of difficult topics. But who thinks that is fun??? NO ONE.

Either way, I think more people in the group agree than they are willing to admit- a few have said I should take over with some more fun titles. Problems is we are all bad at picking books. So I’m asking you readers! Please, please let me know your BEST recommendations!

book club

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

11 thoughts on “Bookclub: Seeking Recommendations!

  1. If you love art (which I see from An Object of Beauty, for instance) and you want to read something truly beautiful, try John Updike’s Seek My Face. It’s one of my favorite books ever.

  2. About to post my monthly book club post on what I’ve read this past month! Check it out!

  3. “Rooftops of Tehran” , by Mahbod Seraji is a great love story, and gives a very interesting perspective into middle class life in Iran during the mid 1970’s. Since my Persian history is a little “rusty” I was glad that I had read the book before watching ” Argo”, as the story provided a reference point for the movie.

    There is a great interview with the author at the end of the book which you might want to read first. I am sure that your group won’t be disappointed, and will find lots to discuss. I would rate this novel in my top 50 books of all time.

    Keep me posted!

  4. I love bookclubs! We had a great one in London, although sometimes the wine seemed to take precedence over the books! But what an you expect when the girls get together? Some of our favourites were: Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron (set in Barcelona, beautiful book), The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (perhaps on the depressing side but it was just such a great book) and if you want something fun and lighthearted: anything by Marian Keyes (chick books but not the kind that has high heels or lipstick on the front cover). I hope the book choices improve (or follow our lead and get stuck into the wine 😉 ).

    • Thanks for the recommendations- I 100% agree about the wine! Shadow of the Wind sounds especially interesting- and added bonus that I have an upcoming trip to Barcelona- I love matching books to places I’m visiting! I’ve also had a few recommendations for Sushi for Beginners by Marian Keyes, might be time to check her out!

  5. You guys might like Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walters and Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. Both are well-written, smart, have interesting characters and neither are dark or depressing. Beautiful Ruins is set in Italy and Hollywood going back and forth in time between the 60s and current day. Mr. Penumbra is a modern story set in a quirky bookstore and Google headquarters with mysteries of a secret literary society. Go figure. I also many book reviews over at my blog if you want to take a look. Good luck!
    –Laura

Leave a Reply

