Beautiful Life and Style

The 25.3 Mile Marathon

4 Comments

I was so excited and looking forward to sharing my weekend here today- and now I’m having trouble even finding words. When I woke up yesterday it was the most beautiful, sunny Spring morning. I literally popped out of bed at 5:30 with enthusiasm (those of you who know me KNOW how ridiculous this is) and hustled Nick to Trinity Church to meet his team and watch him board the buses to Hopkinton.

Marathon Cheering

I then spent the day with my family, driving to different points along the race course to cheer him on. It was exciting and SO FUN! We first spied him in Natick with the enthusiastic pep in his step, cheered him on in Wellsley at the half marathon point, and followed him all the way to Newton, to catch a glimpse of him struggling up the top of Heartbreak Hill.

Nick Heartbreak Hill

And then, well, he didn’t get to finish. MONTHS of training cut short at the 25.3 mile point. Instead our day ended in confusion, chaos and sadness. I can’t really describe the roller-coaster transition from one of the happiest highs- to one of the worst lows. We didn’t have a celebratory dinner like planned, instead we hustled home and glued ourselves to the TV, watching for updates while the sound of sirens and helicopters surrounded our apartment.

Marathon Monday is one of the biggest days in Boston. Heck — it IS  Boston. I think the only day that might be considered a bigger deal is when we have a duckboat parade after our sporting teams win a championship or maybe the 4th of July. Running is such a big part of our city and the marathon is our once a year celebration of that passion. We line the course with our banners and signs and SCREAM our hearts out for the people running and inspiring us.

I’m having trouble wrapping my mind around how much worse it could have been for us. If Nick had run a little faster we would have been right there across the street fr0m the explosions.

Marathon Ticket

So today I’m sad for so many reasons. 1. for Nick who was robbed of his first Marathon finish, 2. for my City- which was kicked down and ripped apart on its most celebratory day, and of course 3. for the families who weren’t as lucky as mine to be safe from the danger. My heart breaks for them especially.

I woke up this morning to another beautiful sunny Spring morning. But it was different. And while I KNOW we will bounce back even stronger – it will certainly take us some time to be back up and running.

Swan Boats on Marathon Monday

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

4 thoughts on “The 25.3 Mile Marathon

  1. Glad that you and your family are safe. My thoughts and prayers are with your City.

  2. Definitely a bad day for Boston. We are so lucky to have escaped harm’s way.

  3. Beautifully said…a day of great highs and lows. vh

Leave a Reply

