Beautiful Life and Style

The Shoes He Wore

1 Comment

I know I keep saying this- but I’m really having trouble getting back into the swing of blogging. I’m even lacking in reading other blogs! My google reader has HUNDREDS of unread posts to catch up on. Please bare with me!!!! Big rewards for the readers still out there! 😉 I promise I’ve been cooking up a great recap/ city guide from our trip to St. Louis, dreaming up beautiful summery outfits and planning summer garden parties. But TODAY I just wanted to share the AMAZING May cover of Boston Magazine:

Boston Magazine May Cover

It’s a powerful image for sure- a collection of shoes from runners of the Boston Marathon coming together in one heart. There is an incredible story about how it all came together on their website. My favorite quote:

“To me the cover is about two things: perseverance and unity. By itself, each shoe in the photograph is tiny, battered, and ordinary. Together, though, they create something beautiful, powerful, and inspirational. Remove just one shoe and you begin to diminish, in some small way, the overall effect. Collectively, they are the perfect symbol for Boston, and for our response to the bombings.”

I also wanted to share the image because its not everyday your boyfriend makes the cover of a magazine- and Nick was lucky enough to be one of the shoes included (his are the grey and green ones below the O-S of Boston). Maybe a small consolation for not finishing the race? Probably not in his mind, but still very special. Its interesting to see how his is literally just one piece of the puzzle- thousands of stories joined together by one event.

Boston Magazine May Back Cover

back cover

And I know that next year they will all definitely finish the race.

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

One thought on “The Shoes He Wore

  1. Very powerful and inspiring. I’m so glad you shared it.
    x Laura

Leave a Reply

