Beautiful Life and Style

Oh hi there.

3 Comments

OK. So I think I have some explaining to do. I fully want to apologize from dropping off the face of the blogging earth. The past two months have been stressful, and action packed (it IS summer afterall!) and while there were definitely a few days in there when I could have sneaked in some posts- I knew I couldn’t be consistent in getting back to this. But I have news! I have a new job!

This might not come as a surprise to many people, but I was pretty unmotivated in my job for quite some time. I tried not to bring it online but I’m sure there were glimmers of frustration dotted throughout my social media.  It was my first job after college, and after five years of trying to make it work- it just didn’t anymore. There were mornings in there where I WISHED I was too sick to go to work. I cried on the phone to my mom about how I didn’t know what to do. I think Nick was ready to declare me as certifiably insane. It’s a crippling and scary feeling to be in a job situation that isn’t working. But at some point, you need to move forward and decide what the next move is. I debated a lot of options: I took the GRE in a “maybe I”ll go to gradschool…” moment. I started researching life as a Landscape Architect (a secret passion of mine). I brainstormed a thousand ways I could monetize my blog. I even debated doing a commute to NY, living at home in my childhood room 5 days a week and working for my dad. But then there was always this little piece of me shouting out- REFUSING to give up on engineering. This has been my path since high school! So I applied to a position in the same field- and sure enough, less than a week later, I was in for an interview. It was a sign.

The new position is as a Waterfront Structural Engineer. The new job is for a smaller group, meaning I will get more responsibility. There will be more design and analysis and project management experience- I might even get to meet with clients! and the BEST PART??? I have a 5 minute walk to get there.

So we will see where it takes us. I have this ENTIRE week off to recharge before starting next Monday so I’m doing my best to plan out some great posts, and I promise you will see more of me here! The subjects I blog about are pretty far removed from my career interests, but I still find it so fun to look up and share these “beautiful” things.

Until Monday, its beach, pool, music, drinks, fun. In no specific order. Its been AGES since I’ve had a proper summer stay-cation.

boat picnic swimsuits and hats drinks swim lounge  pineapple summerSlim Aarons

How is your summer so far?? Share any news!

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

3 thoughts on “Oh hi there.

  1. Congratulations! Isn’t it wonderful to be enthusiastic and have that “I cannot wait to get to work” spring in your step. Your new company is very lucky to have you! VH

  2. Hi, Congratulations on your new job…It sounds like you will be really challenged…also it is good that your note looks forward with anticipation…not back with ? …Bill H.

Leave a Reply

