Beautiful Life and Style

AD’s 10 Blockbuster Buildings

2 Comments

It’s those lazy days following the holidays. Is this a “just me” phenomena? I come home and have no interest in working out or putting away decorations- or preparing blog posts- I can’t motivate myself to do anything really, except lie around and read magazines. It’s a bit of escapism. I guess life could be worse.

Yesterday, I spent some time catching up on one of my favorite subscriptions, Architectural Digest. AD is a funny magazine because despite the name, it usually only focuses on amazing interiors. But every once in a while, they feature a few architectural masterpieces that blow me away. Especially this month. If you haven’t picked up the most recent issue I suggest you do. “10 Blockbuster Buildings from Around the World” will knock your socks off. The article features 10 buildings that were built in the past few years- and each is now on my “must see” travel list! They vary in architectural style, location and size but are each linked together with an inspired design unlike anything you’ve seen anywhere else. These three were my absolute favorites:

Parrish Art Museum, Water Mill NY. Of all of the places on the list, this one is definitely closest to home- so its first on my list for visiting! The Parrish Art Museum features the work of a colony of artists from Eastern Long Island. The current exhibitions would be reason enough alone to visit, but I’m sure they seem even more amazing in such an inspired building!

Water Mill NY Parrish Art Museum

Metropol Parasol, Seville, Spain. The story behind this structure is absolutely amazing. Developers were planning a new underground parking garage in Seville when they encountered an undiscovered Roman archaeological site. The country immediately changed courses and created a new national landmark complete with museum, observatory and restaurants.

Seville Metropol parasol

Gardens by the Bay, Marina Bay, Singapore. The booming Marina Bay in Singapore is home to many amazing attractions- including these Gardens by the Bay. There are 7 different attractions each highlighting a different climate and garden style. The first picture is of the two “garden domes” and the next picture of of the 50 meter tall “supertrees” The goal of the site is to raise the quality of life by enhancing greenery and flora in the city. I can only imagine how beautiful it must be to explore this area of the city!

Singapore Gardens by the Bay2 Singapore Gardens by the Bay

The other buildings were equally amazing so I suggest you check out the article! Have you been to any of the ones featured?? I’d love to hear about it!

Author: beautiful Life and Style

Out to prove to the world that "Stylish Engineer" is not an oxymoron. Always expanding my knowledge of art, architecture, fashion and entertaining while creating a beautiful life and style.

2 thoughts on “AD’s 10 Blockbuster Buildings

  1. So, how far is Seville from Barcelona?

Leave a comment